And now I’m back

So I’ve been out of the loop for quite a few months now. My last post was 12 months ago (shame on me). I wish I could say I’ve been working on a top secret project that I wasn’t able to talk about, or been on a sabbatical exploring the meaning of life. But I haven’t, and I wasn’t.  Now I’m back in my natural habitat (Local Government ICT Projects) and it’s like I never left (in a good way).

Last week (28th June 2012) I made it to Brewcamp in Walsall, and it was a jam-packed evening of fascinating stuff that has really helped me dust off my thinking cap. Not only did I manage a good scheme with Si Whitehouse (watch this space for an interesting, schools related open data project coming to a govcamp near you!), I also came up with a good wheeze for our Country Parks courtesy of Mike Rawlins and his augmented reality (depending on 3g signals, ensuring our country parks teams are geo-tagging their posts and photos on their blog/facebook page).

So a quick run down (if I had written this post sooner I would have forgotten less):

Steph Jennings gave a fantastic talk around the use of social media during the Christchurch earthquakes in 2010/2011 and the impact it had, both on the local community and Steph, as a relative of someone right in the middle of it. The social media side of it was great, but what I will remember most is learning about liquefaction!

The next talk was around Who Cares Walsall and how Walsall Council are putting the Social into Social Care. This was a fascinating insight into how the comms team managed the sensitivities around talking about social care issues through their blog and Twitter. It was nice to hear how well supported and trusted they are by the director of the People Group to enable them to carry out this great work. Some good lessons to be learned there by other authorities.

Finally, and disappointingly in person (we had been promised an augmented reality version), Mike Rawlins talked to us about the work being done by Talk About Local around geo-tagging content to create an augmented reality view of places, initially Stoke-on-Trent. This set the cogs going for me as we are using WordPress a lot across my authority, so there is some potential to explore this further with their plug-in.

All in all, a great evening with lots of learning, sharing, plotting and eating curry. Having missed out on the UKGovCamp at the beginning of the year and a couple of Brewcamps after that, a shot of localgov goodwill in the arm was just what I needed.

What I didn’t need was being twaped by Andy Mabbett while I was off buying him a cup of coffee…

Leave a Reply

