The Coalition, Big Society and Ghostbusters

The night the Conservatives didn’t get elected was a strange one. As the skies darkened over Warwick that evening and the clouds swirled ominously, it was more than a little reminiscent of Ghostbusters. Looking back on the situation, it would appear that was no happy co-incidence. It’s easy to spot how the film ties in with what’s happening today. There is no need for me to add anything to the following quotes from the film, they speak for themselves:

“This city is headed for a disaster of biblical proportions.”

“You know, it just occurred to me that we really haven’t had a successful test of this equipment.”

“There’s something very important I forgot to tell you….Don’t cross the streams.”

“I’m worried, Nick. It’s getting crowded in there and all my data points to something big on the horizon.”

Nick to Dave: “I don’t have to take this abuse from you, I’ve got hundreds of people dying to abuse me.”

“Yeah, it’s a sign, all right – “Going out of business”.”

“There’s definitely a *very slim* chance we’ll survive.”

“Your theories are the worst kind of popular tripe, your methods are sloppy, and your conclusions are highly questionable.”

And perhaps this is the future of the Coalition?

Dave: I think we’d better split up.
Nick: Good idea.
Dave: Yeah… we can do more damage that way.

One Response

  1. I, for one, welcome our new Pilsbury Doughboy Overlords

Leave a Reply

