My surgery shopping list

I’m currently reading through podnosh‘s excellent recipe for a social media surgery and writing my shopping list. I’ve managed to track down the most perfect contact possible at Warwickshire County Council in order to pull together the first list (my patients). I am starting the gentle coaxing of friends and colleagues to see who fancies being a surgeon. All I need to do now is get some dates and a venue (oh and a few more things, I’ve just checked the recipe again). I’m thinking sometime near the end of September for the first one (once I’ve decided if there is enough demand in the area for a surgery).

Sasha Taylor has suggested using Warwick Shire Hall or Leamington Town Hall as possible venues. Might be easy to negotiate using Shire Hall, being as I work there (and I can just walk to it from my desk!). Any other suggestions or offers greatly received.

4 Responses

  1. Should be able to help end September depending on time and date.
    Depending on time of day/weekend there is always the open area between post office and reception.
    Alternatives maybe the conference rooms.
    I can try and rope in a good friend – Pete Lancaster.
    The National Police Web Managers Group (i am the outgoing chair) is looking to run an unconference soon so learning from this could also help. NPIA is also looking at a Cops version of BarCamp.

  2. Sometimes a cafe or coffee shop or pub with wi-fi make great venues – less formal, less faff, less booking which means more likey to last.

    Good luck

  3. By the way don’t worry about the demand. One of the most important part of the recipe is the bit that requires zero “expectations”. Start, do your best, do with love and treat anything that comes out of it as a triumph. Be patient and keep repeating and it’ll work.

Leave a Reply

